top of page
  • Writer's pictureCOMPOSIT

World Suicide Day Resources / Song Preview

Updated: Sep 19, 2020

September 10th, 2020 is World Suicide Prevention Day.




If you're struggling, know that there IS hope; there ARE resources out there for you and people who LOVE you and want to help.


It may feel otherwise, but you are NOT alone.


If you, or someone you know are in crisis and in need of support:


(Toll-free, 24/7)

  • NS Provincial Mental Health Crisis Line: 1-888-429-8167

  • Kids Help Phone (Canada): 1-800-668-6868

  • Crisis Services Canada: 1-833 456-4566

  • You can also text HOME to 741741 (CAN/US) to connect with a Crisis Counselor


Additional Canadian resources can be found here: https://www.crisisservicescanada.ca/en/


Global Suicide Hotline Resources:

___________________


We wanted to share a work in progress from album #2 that's special to both of us: Train but No Ticket, which deals with feelings that can come after losing a loved one to the often silent battle with mental health.


"My friends and I lost one of our own to suicide in the Spring of 2017. As we'd grown older, I didn't see him as often as in our early 20's. When I did, he always seemed full of life and light; lifting people up, lifting ME up. I knew that he'd had some struggles over the years, but didn't know the extent to which he was very much at war with his own mental health. In processing his death, I felt pain, guilt & grief, and wished I'd been there to help lift him up, the way he'd so often done for others. As us artist types do, I wrote a song about it to try and deal with the emotional weight of the things I was feeling. I've never shared it, but have considered doing so, on this day and on the day of his passing, every year since his death.


Perhaps it can help someone who has felt a similar loss, or urge someone battling their own internal war, to reach out to someone for support." - Dean Boudreau (Lead Singer/Lyricist)


Lyrics:



bottom of page